9870310368 Request a Call


Home » Legal » What are the Types of Schemes to Obtain a BIS Certificate?

Top Lawyers in India

Divya | Updated: Oct 11, 2019 | Category: Legal

What are the Types of Schemes to Obtain a BIS Certificate?

BIS Certificate is a type of certification granted by the Bureau of Indian Standards, Government of India. It ensures and provides you the guarantee of quality, safety, and reliability of products in India. Obtaining BIS Certification is generally voluntary; however, it is necessary to obtain this certificate for certain products, taking the health concerns under the account by the Indian Government. Furthermore, there are different schemes run by the government to provide BIS Certification. In this blog we will get to know what those schemes are.

What is BIS Certificate?

Obtaining BIS Certificate assures the consumers about the product they are purchasing conform to the quality and standards guidelines or rules. Also, products with BIS Certification marks are generally more trusted and sold. Therefore, obtaining the BIS Certificate becomes a plus point for the scope of growth or your business.

Not every product needs to be BIS Certified. However, there are certain products that possess some health or safety concerns for the consumer or user, needs to be certified.

Bureau of Indian Standards – Introduction

In India, the BIS certificate serves as proof of quality, reliability, and safety. This certification is issued by the Bureau of Indian Standards, the national body that promotes and nurtures quality standards in India. BIS came into existence by the act of Parliament in 1987. BIS provides regulations with various activities like formulation of standards, certification of products, hallmarking of products, formulating testing and calibration schemes, etc.

Types of Product Certification Scheme under the Bureau of Indian Standards

Indian BIS Certification system is one of the largest in the world with over 26, 500 licensees covering more than 900 products. BIS Certificate allows the bearer to use the certification mark prescribed according to the type of product. Also, the Bureau of Indian Standards operates Foreign Manufacturers Certification Scheme under which foreign manufacturers can obtain a certificate to use the BIS Certification marks on their products. As per the government’s guidelines, 90 products mandatorily require BIS Certification.

There are different types of a scheme under which the BIS Certificate is issued. Let’s see what those schemes are.

Normal procedure – for Domestic Manufacturers

Under this scheme, the applicant submits an application to obtain the BIS Certificate along with the prescribed fees and documents.

After the submission of the application, the BIS Officer performs a preliminary factory evaluation. Furthermore, the BIS Officer takes two samples from the factory and forwards it for testing. He sends one of them for being tested in the factory itself and the other one for independent testing.

After proper verification of the sample, and check if the sample is of acceptable standards, then it issues

The BIS Certification[1] is issued if the sample is found to be of acceptable standards. Moreover, in this scheme, the period taken for the issuance of the BIS Certificate is four months.

Simplified Procedure – for Domestic Manufacturers

In this method, the applicant is required to get a test done on the sample of their manufactured products from a BIS recognized / authorized laboratory and submit the test report to the issuing authority. If the test report of the given sample is satisfactory, then the BIS Officer carries out the verification of the factory premises. In this method, the BIS Certificate is issued within 30 days after submission of the application along with specified documents and fees.

Tatkal Scheme

Manufacturers of products prescribed to have a BIS Certification mark on them, by the Government can apply for obtaining the BIS Certificate under the Tatkal Scheme. Under the Tatkal system, the application is processed within a strict timeline, and the maximum time taken for the issuance of the certificate is 30 days. Additionally, all the applications under this scheme are processed on a priority basis so that the specified norms can be adhered to by the applicant as soon as possible.

Eco Mark Scheme

Products that are Eco-friendly in nature are certified under this scheme. Additionally, this scheme is kept separate from the normal BIS Certification process. Even though the products under this scheme are provided with the certification separately, but they also need to confirm additional requirements prescribed in the Indian Standards to qualify for obtaining the Eco mark. However, the procedure to acquire the BIS Certification is very similar to that of the Domestic Manufacturer’s Scheme.

Foreign Manufacturer Certification Scheme {FMCS}

Foreign manufacturers/applicants are granted the BIS Certification for the use of ISI Mark on their products in a separately designed scheme called the Foreign Manufacturer Certification Scheme {FMCS}. The license under this scheme is provided in a period of 6 months.

Also Read

Products that Require Mandatory BIS Certification

As per the act of the Government, there are certain products that need mandatory BIS Certification, considering public safety and health. Furthermore, without a valid BIS Certificate, such products or items cannot be manufactured or sold. Given below is the list of these products to name a few;

  • Diesel engine
  • Cement
  • Household electrical goods
  • Food and related items
  • Oil pressure stoves
  • Automobile accessories
  • Cylinder, regulators, and valves
  • Medical equipment
  • Steel products
  • Electrical transformers

What Purpose does the BIS Certification Serve?

Typically, the BIS Certification work towards maintaining the quality, reliability, and safety of a product in India. This is done by testing the samples of the items produced by the applicant company for determining its standard as per the guidelines. Furthermore, the certificate serves the following purposes;

  • It protects the consumer from any hazard which is likely to happen if the products are not manufactured as per the BIS Standards
  • Also, it provides a safeguard to the health of the general public
  • Moreover, it serves as a proof of quality assurance
  • Additionally, it promotes Consumer Confidence

Final Words

Obtaining BIS Certification is primarily voluntary, i.e. you can opt whether you want to obtain it or not. However, on the other hand, there are products specified by the government of India, which needs to be certified on a mandatory basis. This is to ensure the safety and good health of the general public.

Moreover, there are five types of schemes under which the BIS Certificate is granted, based on the type of manufacturer and other similar factors. 

  • 22
  • 1
  • 22
  • 1



Business Plan Consultant

Related Post

Marriage Registration

Request a Call Back

Why Choose Us


Find a Lawyer

Search for top-rated lawyers near you

Get A Quote Online

Get a Quote

Receive quotations for your legal need

Get A Quick Consultant

Get a Quick Consult

Get 15 Minutes of expert legal advice

LawyerInc Chatbot